imagesimagesimages

February 21, 2008

We live in a visual culture. There’s no denying that. Visual imagery and, subsequently, visual influence inundates our perceptions at such a staggering rate that the idea of a visual artist (at least in my head) is so complicated that I am constantly conflicted (to a very frustrating point) as to where to take my work. Regardless, I still photograph, draw, and paint whatever interests me, and so have the following artists, and I’m very glad they have. steve bloom. Steve and I used to take Photography classes together. To be brutally honest, he never really pushed his photographic endeavors to a place where he created interesting and compelling work. Since then he has blossomed into an exceptional writer, and I very much enjoy reading his work and marking his growth. Recently, however, he enrolled in a studio (styled) art class, and so I am excited to see how he’s maturation and experience in other creative mediums influence his visual imagery. Below is a piece that I don’t know anything about. I don’t have a title, or dimensions, or really any information passed the statement that it kind of looks like some kind of collage piece. I like the inherent abstract nature of the aesthetic, however, I would like to know a lot more. Here it is.steve-pic.jpgSo i just looked at that image again.And i have to admit. I’m wondering if the “inherent abstract nature of the aesthetic” that I referred to above is totally bogus, and steve just sent me a picture of a robot and some stars, but he happen to send it upside down. If that is indeed the case, then I would like to say, steve…never trust robots. jessica krakowski.Jessica and I essentially met through our common interest in photography. We have had several classes together, and thus have watched each-others processes formulate and come to form on several different occasions. With that said, the following images are samplings of a project that I can honestly say is the most invested and meaningful work that the girl has ever done. I feel honored to have been present during the conception and execution of these images. While Jess will be very quiet and almost frustratingly vague when discussing her work, I would just like to take the time to express my support for what she is doing and hope she doesn’t stop working on this project, but instead continues woriking on the themes both photographically while also looking to other mediums for forms of release. Sorry for the rant, here’s the work.overpass13.jpg vent1.jpg

Leave a comment